#35 Tiramisu

26 Jul

I love Italian food. All of the garlic, herbes, olive oil….ahh its just so good. Not only is the “real” food amazing, but the desserts are to die for as well. Whenever I go out to an Italian restaurant I always look for two things on the menu: bruschetta and tiramisu. I have attempted Tiramisu once before, except it wasn’t a traditional Tiramisu…It was more like a frozen Tiramisu and I may have gone over board with the rum. Lets just say one bite burned your esophagus on the way down.

This time, I made sure I found a great recipe and didn’t over do it on the alcohol, especially since I was bringing it into my coworkers at the Aquarium right before playing with a bunch of 3-5 year olds.

I think since I had such a random mishap with the last time I made Tiramisu, I assumed that it was hard to make for some reason. Wrong, very wrong. One of the easiest things to whip up and be done with AND one of the best parts is you don’t need to use the oven. Thats a serious +1 in my book because it has been way too hot in my kitchen to be wanting to stay in there for long periods of time unless its 530 AM or 10 PM.

Two layers of cookies in a small square dish

I knew I wanted to take some of the Tiramisu to different places so I made two into small square dishes, and then the last one was in a glass loaf pan. The two small ones had two layers of cookies in-between all of the lovely cream and mascarpone and the loaf pan had three layers of cookies.

Still working on my chocolate curls. They're a little pathetic.

Almost fully eaten loaf pan of Tiramisu

The photos of this dessert are not very good, my apologies.

For the recipe, I combined Giada’s recipe with another one I found because the thought of eating 6 egg yolks without being cooked at all messed with my head a little bit. Finding ladyfingers can be confusing for some people because your first reaction would be to go check the cookie isle. With most grocery stores that I have found them at, they’re usually in the bakery section or over by the produce near the raspberries and strawberries because they know people are using these cookies with fresh fruits.

Another side note: when spooning the rum/espresso mixture on to the lady fingers try not to over-soak them because that will lead to a runny and mushy Tiramisu.

Tiramisu Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups mascarpone cheese
  • 1 3/4 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 2 (12 ounce) packages ladyfingers
  • 1 cup espresso, cooled
  • 2 tbs dark rum
Directions:
  1. Combine egg yolks and sugar in the top of a double boiler, over boiling water. Reduce heat to low, and cook for about 10 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and whip yolks until thick and lemon colored.
  2. Add mascarpone to whipped yolks. Beat until combined. In a separate bowl, whip cream to stiff peaks. Gently fold into yolk mixture and set aside.
  3. Split the lady fingers in half, and line the bottom and sides of a large glass bowl. Combine the espresso and rum in a bowl. Brush or lightly spoon espresso mixture on lady fingers. Spoon the cream filling over the lady fingers. Repeat ladyfingers, espresso mixture and filling layers. Garnish with cocoa and chocolate curls. To make the chocolate curls, use a vegetable peeler and run it down the edge of the chocolate bar.
    Refrigerate several hours or overnight.
I hope you give this a try!
Madeline
One Response to “#35 Tiramisu”

  1. Joseph Olin July 26, 2011 at 3:16 PM #

    I just wished I could handle the amount of cream and dairy in this desert! It always looks so good and it never lasts!

Leave a Reply

