#32 Blueberry Muffin Cupcakes

30 Jun

Blueberry muffins are great. They really are. I love making them for breakfast because it is like a cupcake for breakfast, and seriously what could be better than that…besides a cupcake for breakfast obviously.

I have a Blueberry Muffin recipe that I use all of the time, but I was scouring this Cupcake Magazine that I have baked a few things out of (such as the Ganache Cupcakes and Caramel Bourbon Cupcakes ) and this was in it. So I think this recipe was a little bit more Cupcake-y than it was Muffin-y. The big difference was that it had cornmeal in it, so it had a little cornbread feel to it, which I LOVE cornbread too!

Overall, I think this was a yummy recipe, definitely more dessert like than a normal breakfast muffin. My only complaint was that it didn’t want me to mix in the blueberries into the batter, it just wanted a few put on top and then baked in. I think it would have been better if they were mixed in, so I’ll try that next time, and I suggest trying that yourself.

PS: I went fishing with friends from the aquarium! What a fun experience! My first attempt at starting to do fun/different things this summer. I didn’t catch anything, but now I can say I went fishing! Woohoo

Fishing off the Santa Monica Pier

Blueberry Muffin Cupcakes

Cupcakes: Special Edition of Better Homes and Gardens Magazine

 

Ingredients for Streusel Topping:

1 cup flour

1/3 cup brown sugar

½ tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp salt (basically a pinch)

¼ cup butter

Directions for Streusel Topping:

In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients. With a pastry blender (or forks if you don’t have one) cut in the butter until mixture resembles course crumbs. Set Aside.

 

Ingredients for Cupcake:

1 cup butter

4 eggs

1 1/3 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup cornmeal

2 tbs cornstarch

2 tsp baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 ½ cups fresh blueberries

 

Directions for Cupcake:

1. Line 24 normal sized cupcake tins with liners.

2. In a medium bowl stir together flour, cornmeal, cornstarch, baking powder and salt. Set aside

3. Turn oven on to 350 degrees.

4. In a large mixing bowl, beat butter with electric mixer for 30 seconds on high speed. Gradually add in sugar, beating on medium speed until light and fluffy – about 3 minutes. Add vanilla extract.

5. Add eggs, one at a time, beating on low for a minute each addition and scrape the bowl frequently. Add flour mixture and then mix just until combined.

6. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling about 2/3 full. Sprinkle blueberries on top, lightly poke them into the batter (or you can add the blueberries in to the batter and gently mix in, then spoon batter into the tins).

7. Sprinkle generously the Streusel Topping.

8. Bake for 15-18 minutes (I had to take mine out at 12, so check yours when its getting close to that time).

9. (Optional) For the icing that is drizzled on top, take a cup or so of confectioners sugar and add in a tablespoon of milk. Mix and continue adding the ingredients depending on the consistency you would like. If you would like it thicker, add more sugar. If you would like it thinner, add more milk.

 

Enjoy!

Madeline

Leave a Reply

