#28 Blue Velvet Dodger Cupcakes

3 Jun

Lovely Libby asked me to conjure up some magical Dodgers themed baked good to give to her friends. We ran through a few ideas and ended up with……Blue Velvet Cupcakes! It’s pretty much exactly what you think, Red Velvet cupcakes…but Blue. Although things got a little challenging so it wasn’t as easy as it seemed.

I have a normal Red Velvet cake recipe that I use, or use to use now that I have this new one. I tried to just alter that recipe and replace the Red food dye with the Blue food dye. Sounds logical right? Wrong. So wrong. They turned out this hideous blue, the middle sunk in and the edges turned yellow. What the heck happened?! I dont even want to know. I just shoved them to the side, went to the store an started over. But not before I looked up some other recipes and see if anyone else had better luck than I did. Sure enough, there are REAL recipes for Blue Velvet Cake and it was a bit different than mine so I decided to give it a shot.

After just making the batter, I knew it was going to turn out MUCH differently than the other ones. The key difference with this recipe was using gel food coloring as opposed to liquid food coloring. I have gel food coloring for tinting frostings and such, but I never really thought to use it in my cupcakes, I always just used liquid.

They turned out a very bright blue, which is exactly what I wanted to match the Dodger color.

I used a cupcake that didn't turn out and crumbled up pieces of it into some make shift sprinkles

Ta-da!

Here is the link to the recipe. I found it on this really adorable baking blog, the pictures are gorgeous. Totally makes me want to step up my game.

Enjoy!

Madeline

4 Responses to “#28 Blue Velvet Dodger Cupcakes”

  1. cynthia July 2, 2013 at 11:04 AM #

    when making blue velvet cupcake how did you make the correct measurements with the gel colour?

    • Madeline Olin (@maddythebaker) July 2, 2013 at 9:03 PM #

      I use Americolor food coloring which comes in a little bottle that you can squeeze out the right amount.

      • cynthia July 3, 2013 at 12:44 PM #

        the color is concentrated, do you dilute it ?

  2. Miss Madeline July 3, 2013 at 12:56 PM #

    I do not dilute it, which is why it’s such a bright blue color.

Leave a Reply

