#27 Lemon Pound Cake with Fresh Berries and Cream

30 May

Update from last week’s post: They were gone in two days. I made about 30 of them and my family ate them in 2 days. They’re good, so good.

My brother, sister in law, and baby niece were in town this weekend. I must say this was one of the best weekends I have had in a while, and that says a lot especially since I have some outrageous allergies or a sinus infection. Either way, the sneezing and face congestion have been unbearable – but the baby and family time makes it all better 🙂

Saturday evening we had some more family over for dinner and my sister showed me how to make Bruschetta because I have been craving it like a mad woman for the past 2 months. It was AMAZING and so simple to make! Im going to make that when I have my kick off to the summer dinner party (I just decided to hold this dinner party…just now). On top of the awesome bruschetta she showed me how to make some basic marinara sauce, which we then used on our grill-cooked pizzas. Delish!

Jackie's Margartia Pizza

Since Jackie was in charge of dinner, I was supposed to be in charge of dessert. Hence the supposed to be. I sat with my brother, Brad, and looked through 4 of my cookbooks until we found this great looking recipe of that consisted of white chocolate, whipped cream and rasberries – sounds great to me! Too bad I didn’t read through the directions all the way….erg. You needed to refridgerate it over night – of course Madeline OF COURSE.

So instead I made a Lemon Pound Cake (which I was planning on making to go with this rasberrie and cream dessert thing) and we whipped some cream and topped it with some berries. It was very refreshing at the end of our pizza, Italian dinner. I did make the pound cake, but Jackie helped with the rest of it. Team work 🙂

Lemon Pound Cake. Don't forget the powdered sugar 🙂

I got the recipe for the pound cake out of my big fat Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. The thing is like a baking encyclopedia. I love baking out of her book because I can just look up her recipes on the internet and post the link here instead of writing it all up – but for some reason Martha changed her recipe that is online. SO, I guess that means I am going to have to type this all up.

Glazed Lemon Pound Cake

From Martha Stewarts Baking Handbook

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, room temp

2 1/2 cups plus 2 tbs all purpose flour

1 tbs baking powder

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 tbs lemon zest (about two lemons)

1/2 tsp pure lemon extract

1/2 cup sour cream

5 large eggs

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 tbs freshly squeezed lemon juice (use those two lemons from the zest – save the extra lemon juice for a glaze)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spay two 8 1/2 by 4 1/2 inch loaf pans.

2. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a bowl of an electric mixer with a paddle attachment, beat the butter, sugar, lemon zest, lemon extract, and sour cream on medium speed until light and fluffy (2 mins).

4. Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the sides in between.

5. Beat in the oil and lemon juice. Then add in the flour mixture, slowly, and beat until just combined. Dont overmix!

6. Divide batter evenly into pans and bake until lightly golden, and a toothpick comes out clean, 50 minutes. (For me, mine was done around 40 so I would keep an eye on yours).

For the glaze

Use the remaining lemon juice and whisk in confectioners sugar to taste. If there are clumps of sugar in your glaze, put it on the stove and melt them away. You can either pour over the cakes while they are still in the pan and let it soak in, or use a pastry brush and brush the cakes until the glaze is gone.

Topping

Whip some heavy cream,maybe a cup or so, depends on how much cream you like of course. Add small amounts of sugar until you like the taste. Top your pound cake with whipped cream and add some chopped up strawberries and rasberries.

Me and my lovely Niece, Vivienne!

I hope you all had an amazing Memorial Day weekend with your friends and families. I sure did 🙂

Enjoy,

Madeline

2 Responses to “#27 Lemon Pound Cake with Fresh Berries and Cream”

  1. yale May 30, 2011 at 7:25 PM #

    You’re killing me…
    i’m in the library SO HUNGRY damnit

  2. Trevor May 31, 2011 at 4:36 AM #

    berries and cream, berries and cream! I’m a lad that loves berries and cream!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

