#23 English Cream Scones

8 May

Today is a special post done by Miss Torey Kromnick in honor of Mothers Day. I tried to remake that Vanilla Bean Caramel that I made a few months ago, but of course it didn’t turn out again! I’m going to need to call on the sister in law or take a candy making class or something because this is just getting depressing! I guess that just means I’m going to need to make some ice cream to go with the Caramel Sauce. 🙂

Happy Mother’s Day to you all. I hope you are all spending it with your mommies. My mommy is in Germany right now so sadly I don’t get to spend it with her.

Me and My Mom and our first Kitchen Aid Mixer

For Torey’s Mom, she has an entire brunch planned and part of it was to make these scones. Her oven wasn’t working so she eneded up at my place, which I of course didn’t mind because that meant scones for Maddy!

Personally, I have never heard of Currants, which are those little specs in these scones. So when she was baking I kept looking at the dough thinking that it was this big chocolate chip yummy dough. Such a tease. But I must say, I was very pleasantly surprised, not that I doubted Torey’s baking skills at all, it was more of the Currants that I was doubting. They’re fabulous warm with a little butter on it. Mmmm I know her Momma is going to be happy tomorrow morning 🙂

Sectioning off the dough

Torey testing the Caramel sauce

Cleaning dishes?

Scones!

Torey very graciously offered to give the recipe for these scones!

English Cream Scones

Ingredients:

1 cup of Buttermilk

1 Egg

2 tbs Sugar

3 1/2 cups Flour

2 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 cup melted butter

1/3 cup Currants (You find these next to the raisins)

Insturctions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Whisk buttermilk, egg, and sugar. In a seperate bowl, combine 3 cups of flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add 2/3 of the dry mix to the wet mix. (Switch to a wooden spoon. It will get stuck in the whisk) Add melted butter, and mix througougly. Stir in remaining flour and currants. Knead dough for several minutes, using the last 1/2 cup of flour. Seperate dough into 3 parts. Shape each part into a thick circle, (ours were aprox 1 inch thick, but possibly too small). Cut circles into quarters and arrange on cookie sheet. Bake 20-25 minutes or until lightly golden brown. (For my oven it was more towards 15 minutes, also because ours were probably a little smaller than what they should have been)

Our recipe made about 30 min scones. Serve warm with butter or fruit preserves.

Happy Mommas Day!

Maddy & Torey

Leave a Reply

