#22 Chewy Fudge Triple Chocolate Brownies

28 Apr

I always felt like baking was my escape from reality. When I am stressed, annoyed, frustrated, whatever -I go bake something. It’s therapeutic to me. In the same way that cleaning and organizing are my happy places. I dont need any music or any other distractions to keep my mind active, just give me the kitchen and my cookbook and I’m happy.

Clearly, that wasn’t the case Wednesday night. I have these great vanilla beans that my sister in law gave me from South Africa and I’ve been meaning to use them so I found a great Vanilla Bean Cupcake recipe. I had a lot on my mind and managed to mix and bake an entire batch of cupcakes – minus the 5 eggs. Needless to say, those cupcakes are sitting in a tupperware glaring at me from across the kitchen. I guess some things really do take priority in my head no matter how much I love baking.

The cupcakes have amazing flavor otherwise, so definitely be expecting those in the future. Just maybe when my head is cleared up so I dont forget major ingredients again.

Surprise Happy Vivi Picture!

In attempts to not feel defeated by the kitchen, I made some brownies tonight for a co-worker. We sneakily (is that even a word?) asked him what his favorite dessert was the other day and so I made some brownies. A simple amazing dessert. Always. Unless you forget, oh say, the chocolate or something.

Eight-year-old me and my cousin licking the utensils after making brownies.

As a kid, my mom and I would make the box mix of Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Brownies and all you would need is a bowl, a spatula, and a wooden spoon. These days, when I bake it requires half of the kitchen appliances. But I must say, there is something seriously amazing about batter on a wooden spoon.

Recipe courtesy of the amazing Annie’s-Eats blog. If only I was 1/4 of as awesome as she is.

Enjoy,

Me

5 Responses to “#22 Chewy Fudge Triple Chocolate Brownies”

  1. Joseph April 28, 2011 at 10:44 PM #

    Awesome – can’t wait to inhale one when I get out of this place!

    • rebhirsch April 28, 2011 at 10:53 PM #

      love me a link crew sweatshirt!

  2. yale April 29, 2011 at 2:15 AM #

    really, though…those look delicious. annie=hero. //also like the link crew LOL

  3. Debby Chen April 29, 2011 at 10:55 AM #

    You are just as awesome as Annie Eats! Can’t wait to try. 🙂

  4. amy May 10, 2011 at 11:28 PM #

    Vivi is so gorgeous! I love her haaair.

Leave a Reply

