Baking/Life Update

14 Apr

As my lovely friend/co-worker Libby says “So Surry”

I have been bad and haven’t posted in what seems to be close to a month! I may not have been posting but I promise I’ve been baking in between, just hasn’t been specifically Thursday and things havent turned out as they should have…

With that said, I have a few things to put up, I just need to sit down and do it.

If you have all forgotten about me and my baking project, well I will make it up to you.

To come:

  • Chocolate Kahlua Cupcakes with Ganache
  • Chocolate Flourless Torte  (for the parents’ birthday)
  • Amazing Granola Bars (That didn’t turn out but I’ll tell you about them anyways)
  • Pictures of my niece!!
Also, I’m toying with the idea of adding real food onto my plate, so to speak. I figure I should try and branch out and make some real meals maybe. Thoughts?

Me at the tide pools in Malibu

I went to the tide pools in Malibu with my mom the other afternoon. They were amazing. Beautiful stuff. Lots of sea stars, sea anemones, and other cool sea shore animals. But I guess I have this new formed soft spot for sea creatures since I’ve started working at the aquarium. It’s such an awesome feeling going to the beach and being able to know what I’m looking at and explain what it is to other people who have no idea that whatever it is.

Sea Star Orgy

On the aquarium note, I started teaching classes. I started with a group of 25 five-year-olds and I was helping teach them their five senses and using a sea star to explain it. Let me tell you, five-year-olds are freakishly intimidating. It’s all fun and games when we’re running around the aquarium and the little girls are coming up and hugging me, but when it comes down to teaching them, they just scare the crap out of me. But I will get better with time :). I love working with kids, even if I get a little scared.

The lovely creatures that I get to play with twice a week

Looking forward to sharing my food and life with you,

Me

Leave a Reply

