#18 Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with Bailey’s Cream Cheese Frosting

20 Mar

Happy Late St. Patricks Day! I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a while but felt I should wait until St. Patty’s Day to test it out.

I had an amazing morning working at the aquarium. A group of 3rd graders from inner city LA came and were just absolutely hilarious. They got off the bus and had big eyes like “oh my god we’re at the beach!!!!” It was beyond precious. During a break after the class left, I was talking to one of the other interns who was asking what St. Patrick’s Day is for when I realized…I have no idea.

So I looked it up..and I still don’t really get it but it’s basically a holiday about St. Patrick from Ireland. More of an excuse to drink and pinch people for not wearing green if you ask me :). In my research I did find out that they dye the Chicago River green every year in honor of it. You’ve got to check out this video of it. They dump 40 lbs of green vegetable dye for it to stay this Nickelodean gack color for 4 hours. Seems extremely outrageous if you ask me.

Back to the baking.

I ended up making these Friday morning and let me say that opening up a beer at 10am just isn’t appealing, on any level. Felt like the morning after a party, but I got past it.

Guinness and Irish Butter (I felt it was appropriate)

I’ve always been intimidated by cupcakes that had filling in the center. It just seemed like a lot of work and cutting out the center didnt look so simple either, but I was wrong. It was easy and kinda fun too because when you cut a cone out of the cupcake you have to cut a little piece off so that it fits back in with the ganache, so you get to eat a bunch of little pieces of cake along the way :).

Use a pairing knife and cut a cone in the center of the cupcake

Pipe some ganache into the center and then put the cone you cut off back on top!

Ta-da! No one will know that you cut it open once you put the frosting on.

Finale

Half eaten..so good

Highly suggest making these, any time of the year 🙂

For the cupcakes and the ganache, I used this recipe CLICK HERE

But for the frosting I used THIS recipe…CLICK HERE.

One Response to “#18 Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes with Bailey’s Cream Cheese Frosting”

  1. Stephen March 20, 2011 at 3:36 PM #

    They look almost as good as they tasted

Leave a Reply

