#15 – Valentine’s Day Special

20 Feb

Sadly, Valentine’s Day has long passed so I can not wish you all a Happy Valentine’s Day properly. I hope you all had a nice day with your loved ones or just with some friends. I’ve decided that I’m a fan of the holiday for baking purposes only. Hearts and Lovey-Dovey things in baking are just absolutely adorable, but the holiday itself is a mess.

With my crazy schedule the past few weeks, I didn’t have the brain to think of something uber creative for Valentine’s Day. Especially since after a week of working in Vegas I flew straight to Santa Cruz for my niece’s first birthday and my brother’s birthday. My poor brother will never know what it is like to have a real birthday anymore because his daughter’s birthday is the following day.

Her first cupcake 🙂

Hilarious picture. Thats my Brother and my Sister-in-Law and the munchkin, minus the head.

We drove home the day before Valentine’s Day and after taking way too much Dramamine to be sure that I stayed passed out in the backseat on the drive home, I had no energy to make anything that evening. (I’m not complaining. I slept amazingly). Although I got up early the morning of Love Day, primarily because my body was accustomed to waking up at 7:30 all week, and made some classic Red Velvet Cupcakes for the boyfriend before heading to my first day back at school. You heard me. I’m finally back in school. Very weird feeling, but lets not ruin this loving baby filled post with school.

This is what they looked like moments after being finished.

Red Velvet with Cream Cheese Frosting. Classic

Candy Hearts have some really weird sayings on them these days...I dont know how I feel about "High Five" being on a heart. It sure sounds insulting to me.

And this is what they looked like after my drive to UCLA forgetting to put the carrier on the floor.

Awful.

I went through a wave of emotions, which shows how weird my brain is. I turned around and saw them all turned upside down and smooshed and laughed, hysterically. The light turned green and I continued driving with a dead straight face, no emotions, no feelings. Then I turned onto his street and I cried. It was pathetic really. I blame the exhaustion from the prior week…and a little bit of my weird dessert focused brain.

In attempts to make myself feel better after this tragic incident, I made sugar cookies the following day. This was the best decision ever. Not only are these sugar cookies the best I’ve ever made or had for that matter, they were adorable too and were gone within 2 days I believe. Super addicting. I have Annie from Annie Eats to thank for that recipe. Truly amazing. I’ll never go to any other sugar recipe.

First, I outlined them and let them set.

Then, I took the frosting and watered it down so it was liquidy and poured it into the middle. I used a toothpick to move it into all of the corners, and then let it set.

They turn out beautiful.

I tried using Meringue Powder for my Royal Icing, after reading so many different recipes that used it. I personally like it a lot better than using egg whites, and it saves you the worrying in the back of your mind about using raw eggs. Here is the recipe for the Royal Icing I used.

Lots of pictures this post, I hope you enjoy them.

I promise my post about the Exec Pastry Chef at the Red Rock is coming soon!

4 Responses to “#15 – Valentine’s Day Special”

  1. Stephen February 23, 2011 at 2:51 PM #

    Vivi is the most adorable chunk of bebe I know. That picture of her with the cupcake is priceless. I miss the little one….

  2. Kathie March 8, 2011 at 5:04 PM #

    And once again all the sugar cookies are gone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sugar Cookies Revisited « Thursday Night Baking Project - March 7, 2011

    […] you did not get the opportunity to try the sugar cookies I made on Valentine’s Day, you probably wont understand the need for me to make them again. Those sugar cookies were amazing. […]

  2. #33 Fourth of July Sugar Cookies « Thursday Night Baking - July 3, 2011

    […] got an addiction to these sugar cookies and I havent made them since last time I posted them on here…or here. So technically this isnt anything new, but I’ll show you […]

Leave a Reply

