#11 Cookie Brownie Cheesecake

13 Jan

This is Libby.

This week on Wednesday was my her birthday.

The story with Libby is that she has been begging for these “Cookie Brownie” things since the day she found out that I liked baking. Everyone, including myself and my pastry chef sister-in-law, had no idea what these cookie brownies were.Every time I posted a new recipe, she would instantly respond with 2 words and a bunch of exclamation points “cookie brownies!!!!!!!!!” It makes enough sense that I could figure it out, but I had never had one and didn’t quite get what the rage was.

So I decided to do what any nice person would do, and make the girl the cookie brownies that she oh so desperately wanted, or needed. I looked around online for some recipes, but every one had a box mix required to make it. Box mix!? Nonsense. I figured that it couldn’t be that hard to do it from scratch, right? It sounded incredibly simple!

I took the brownie batter that I made and spread it in my pan evenly. I then took cookie dough and balled it up and dropped it in and smashed it down a little bit so it would bake in the brownies and not on top of the brownies. Lastly, I smeared the top a little bit so that it looked more brownie like.

I put it in the oven for 35 minutes like it said, and it still wasn’t done. I left it in for another 5 minutes and I couldn’t let it stay in there any longer, the top of it was starting to look like it was getting too hard.

So I take him out (brownies seem to be masculine in my mind I guess?) and he looked like this. Beautiful right?

10 minutes later….

He sunk…and the cookie dough spread out into the brownies so it was more of a brownie with a hint of cookie in it and it didn’t look done in the center. Cookie Brownie Fail.

I couldn’t serve that as her cookie brownies, because it was so clearly a fail, so I let it sit for a day so that I could think about what to do with it. After a few ideas of what to do with these brownies I decided to change up my cheesecake recipe a bit and add in these brownies.

Basically, I just crumbled up the brownies and added it into the cheesecake batter that I used in my Oreo Cheesecake Recipe.

Saved 🙂

Happy Birthday Miss Libby

-Madeline

Leave a Reply

