#4 – Thanksgiving Special

26 Nov

I know this isn’t exactly on Thursday as I have promised so boldly in the subtext of my blog title, but there was no time in between waking up at 7 and driving down to San Diego and back all on Thanksgiving day to get in the post.

I was in charge of desserts for the big day and I kept true to my new recipe philosphy but had to stick with the traditional holiday dessert as well.

Chocolate Fudge Pie and Pecan Pie where the final choices and they were a big hit! I highly, highly recommend making this Chocolate Fudge Pie. It’s incredibly easy and super delicious, but you need to have a sweet tooth and a chocolate love, but who doesn’t?

Imagine a flaky crust with chocolate and a ton of whipped cream. I don’t know how to go wrong with that.

Chocolate Fudge Pie

I knew I wanted chocolate curls on top but I wasn’t sure of the best way to go about it. I just grabbed a vegetable peeler and a chocolate bar and attempted it that way. I made a few super small curls but after looking it up later, the chocolate needs to be a little softer than mine was and then I probably could have gotten a better, traditional curl. Check out the picture below, that will pretty much explain it for you.

I wanted to get a shot of the pie after a slice was taken but as soon as I grab my camera almost all of the pie is gone, guess it was good 🙂

Mmmmm

Last but of course not least, I made a traditional Pecan Pie which is always amazing.

I cheated and used pre-made pie dough but I really had no time. I promise the next pie will be home made :). But honestly, it is still good.

Click here for Chocolate Fudge Pie Recipe

I hope you all had an amazing Thanksgiving! Leave me a comment and let me know how your desserts went.

Until Thursday.

Madeline


4 Responses to “#4 – Thanksgiving Special”

  1. Kathie November 27, 2010 at 11:04 AM #

    The pies were fantastic. I think it’s time to try something with lots of lemon.

  2. Trevor November 27, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

    Where’s the turkey cookie?

  3. Vicky November 28, 2010 at 12:16 AM #

    I saw the comment about “something with lots of lemon”. I have an absolutely delicious recipe for lemon bars. Let me know if you’d like it.

    Oh… And I also made pumpkin cheesecake on thanksgiving. It was pretty fantastic.

    • Anu October 28, 2011 at 3:07 AM #

      pls can u give me da recipie 4 lemon bars……i am in real need of dem..
      🙂

Leave a Reply

