#25 Salted Caramel Bourbon Chocolate Cupcakes

19 May

The title pretty much says it all. The picture of this cupcake in the magazine I found it in was absolutely saliva inducing (that doesn’t sound as sexy as I thought it would). I was going to scan it and show you guys, but then mine didn’t turn out as amazing looking as theirs, so just work with me here.

I got the recipe out of this amazing cupcake magazine I found at a Bristol Farms near by. I flipped through a few pages and pretty much had to buy it. If you’re interested in it, it is put out by the Better Homes and Garden magazine and it’s called, shockingly, “Cupcakes”. It starts with the basics like a chocolate cupcake and the different frostings to go with it but then later into the issue you come across outrageous stuff, like this cupcake here. It’s an amazing issue, I’ll definitely be making more from here.

The Santa Cruz Fam is coming to town Memorial Day Weekend. Get Ready!

Back to cupcakes…

If you’ve been paying attention thus far, you may have noticed I forget ingredients while baking, or straight up forget to buy them. I didn’t forget to put anything in this time (thank goodness) but I didn’t realize I needed sour cream (weird) for the frosting around the edge. I changed the recipe and just made a ganache and heard no complaints, although maybe it would have been even more amazing with the sour cream. We’ll never know…unless you bake it the right way and send me a message letting me know how it is! 🙂

Also on top, I made use of my Fleur de Sel salt that I ordered for those damn Vanilla Bean Caramels that NEVER work out for me. I figured that I should use the salt on something that actually turns out. I also ended up using that Caramel sauce on some of the cupcakes because I ran out of the other caramel that I made to go with it. I didn’t so much as run out as Torey and Yael were over and they kept eating it…

"Hold up a cupcake, I'm going to take your picture!". Commence fake smiles.

PLEASE NOTE THE SPOONS OF CARAMEL IN THEIR HANDS.

I almost just sat here and typed up the whole recipe and then luckily found that they uploaded it to their website, phew! Check out the recipe HERE.

Make sure you don't go too overboard with the caramel...

I usually bring whatever I bake into the office, but I also brought some into the aquarium and they were devoured LITERALLY within 5 minutes.  I came in to grab a parking pass, dropped off the cupcakes, came back in from my car and they were all gone. I’d call that a success. Also, what a coincidence, they were filming Top Chef: Just Desserts upstairs on the pier. I thought that was pretty nifty! Although I was a bit disappointed to watch their PA’s plating their final desserts for the camera. Thats the chefs job not some awkward large bearded man? Sorry. Totally ruined it for me. Not to mention they left a huge pile of trash behind next to the aquaium. I’m all for my desserts people but I’m also all for the environment.

Hope the rain this week didn’t freak you out! Enjoy the weekend 🙂

Me

3 Responses to “#25 Salted Caramel Bourbon Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. yale May 19, 2011 at 8:27 PM #

    i wish i was eating them all over again

  2. Danielle May 20, 2011 at 2:26 PM #

    I take it back. You should have brought me one to the gym. They look HEAVENLY. I wanttttttttt!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #32 Blueberry Muffin Cupcakes « Thursday Night Baking - June 30, 2011

    […] Cupcake Magazine that I have baked a few things out of (such as the Ganache Cupcakes and Caramel Bourbon Cupcakes ) and this was in it. So I think this recipe was a little bit more Cupcake-y than it was Muffin-y. […]

Leave a comment